12.7 C
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeSportsIPL History: List of Teams That Have Won the Indian Premier League...

IPL History: List of Teams That Have Won the Indian Premier League Trophy So Far




Related stories

What Time is the Michigan Game Today

What Time is the Michigan Game Today? The Michigan...

CSGORoll The Ultimate Guide to Gambling

Introduction CSGORoll has emerged as a popular destination for gamers...

Unleash Your Potential: Karate Classes in Dubai and Abu Dhabi

Diversity thrives and ambitions soar high, the pursuit of...

Sport Bike Helmets

Sport bike helmets are designed to provide optimal protection...

Unlock Your Team’s Potential: Effective Football Coaching Strategies

Revolutionizing Football Coaching for Success Football coaching isn't just about...

The Indian Premier League (IPL) brought an immediate and phenomenal effect to the game, even reaching not only the ‘who’s who’ of the world through its tantalising matches but also created an opportunity where the best of international and home players represent the teams to combine the cricketing traditions of the world. It marks the beginning of a revolution in the cricketing world—a platform for young talents and experienced champions around the world to come and show their excellence.

For a long time in the history of the Indian Premier League, the tournament has been more than just a cricket tournament- it has been celebrated with family and friends.

Champions of the Arena

Here’s a look at those who made an indelible mark on the league’s history by displaying several exemplary displays of skill, grit, and team spirit while lifting the IPL trophy.

2008: Rajasthan Royals – The Underdog Triumph

The first edition of IPL will always be written in history as a fairytale victory of Rajasthan Royals. Inspiration and leadership by Shane Warne, their underdog story and a brand of exciting cricket had made them the favourites of all cricket fans.

2009: Deccan Chargers – Hyderabad’s Moment in the Sun

The Deccan Chargers were captained by Adam Gilchrist, who led them to their first and only title win in 2009, with so much fuel coming from a brilliant batting lineup.

2010-2011: Chennai Super Kings – The Rise of a Dynasty

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) heralded themselves onto the grandest stage of T20 cricket with some wise captaincy from MS Dhoni and became champions, successively, for years, showcasing excellent consistency and strategic brilliance. The new benchmarks were set.

2012: Kolkata Knight Riders – A Title at Last

Many seasons of frustration later, the Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata Knight Riders finally won the 2012 title. Patience had paid off.

2013: Mumbai Indians – The First for a Juggernaut

Mumbai Indians (MI) started climbing and rising in 2013. Rohit Sharma’s captaincy and Sachin Tendulkar’s brilliance guided them towards capturing the title.

2014: Kolkata Knight Riders – Double Delight

The Kolkata Knight Riders emulated their 2012 success at that stage and became only the second team with more than one IPL title.

2015: Mumbai Indians – The Power of Consistency 

Mumbai Indians consolidated their real status as an IPL powerhouse when they won their second title, which hammered their ability to peak at the right time.

2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad – A Team Built on Bowling

Sunrisers Hyderabad, on the other hand, went against the prevailing batting trend. They rode on the back of a powerful bowling attack, spearheaded by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, to a memorable championship win.

2017: Mumbai Indians – A Thrilling Last-Ball Finish

In one of the most closely contested finals, the Mumbai Indians did just enough to edge out Rising Pune Supergiant by a whisker of one run and claimed their third title after three years in a nail-biting finish.

2018: Chennai Super Kings

Dhoni’s Masterclass Returning from a two-year hibernation, it was time for CSK to roar back in style with MS Dhoni in charge. Dhoni orchestrated an unbelievable comeback victory to further stamp their IPL legacy.

2019-2020: Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai continued their IPL dominance, winning their fourth title in a thrilling final against Chennai Super Kings.

2021: Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

CSK made a comeback after a disappointing 2020 season, dominantly winning their fourth IPL title.

2022: Gujarat Titans (GT)

In their debut season, the Gujarat Titans defied expectations, lifting the IPL trophy in a fairytale run.

2023: Chennai Super Kings – A Resurgent Force 

Rebounding in 2023 with the other IPL trophy, the Chennai Super Kings proved that champions are not only champions in a few years but always.

Closing thoughts

The history of the Indian Premier League tells a tale of cricketing glory, from up-and-down thrillers to an ode to a sport that brings millions to stand united. Every team that has put their hands on the IPL trophy has added to this rich history of setting up the base for future talent. The spirit of cricket has been the true winner from time immemorial. Evolving through the years, the spirit of cricket now reflects the value that emphasises the importance of teamwork, passion, and pursuit of excellence. Through this journey, the IPL has transformed T20 cricket, and the attempt into landmarks that cricketing history will recall with pride.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories